Categories: Fantasy Cricket
August 10, 2017
| On 4 years ago

2017 Women’s Cricket Super League Overview

By Zeyb Zubairy

Schedule, Teams, Players And Other Information

The Second Women’s Super League (also known as Kia Super League) season slated between August 10 to September 1 is starting today. The match scheduled for Thursday will be something to watch out for as defending champions Southern Vipers host Heather Knight’s Western Storm.

The first Women’s Super League was conducted in 2016 with six teams playing T20 format. It is a semi professional women’s cricket that carries out in England and Wales. The 2016 title was taken by Defending Champion Southern Vipers, led by Charlotte Edwards against Western Storm (Runners-up) by seven wickets at county cricket ground, Chelmsford.

The matches would be broadcasted Live on Sky Sports. Every team will play with the five others at least once. The top three teams would advance to Finals Day at Hove on 1st of September. The second and third placed teams would play a preliminary match, and the winners would play the leading team in the series.

The Defending Champions

The Vipers last season won five of their six games to win the title by winning their final match by six wickets. The players like Arran Brindle, an All-rounder who was unbeaten in all four of her innings can turn out for the national side, along with New Zealand skipper Suzie Bates, Edwards, Brindle and hard-hitter Hayley Matthews of West Indies joining from Lancashire Thunder will depend on their trophy for Vipers.

First League After The Women’s World Cup

The 24th July women’s world cup final that was held at the Lord’s Stadium in London saw a crowd of 26,000 people to see the England’s dramatic final win over India. More than 1.1 million people watched the match on the television.

The Women’s Super League is the first series being conducted in Women’s category after the recent world cup. The league comes across the perfect time for fans and players and involves one of the best players from the World Cup.

The series would see if the women’s cricket maintains the momentum and interest that was created during the world cup.

Schedule & Venue

10 August – Southern Vipers v Western Storm, Southampton**

11 August  – Yorkshire Diamonds v Lancashire Thunder, Leeds**

12 August  – Western Storm v Loughborough Lightning, Taunton**

13 August – Surrey Stars v Yorkshire Diamonds, London**

15 August  – Loughborough Lightning v Southern Vipers, Derby**

16 August  – Lancashire Thunder v Surrey Stars, Manchester**

18 August – Loughborough Lightning v Yorkshire Diamonds, Loughborough

20 August  – Lancashire Thunder v Loughborough Lightning, Blackpool

20 August  – Southern Vipers v Surrey Stars, Southampton

20 August  – Yorkshire Diamonds v Western Storm, York

23 August  – Lancashire Thunder v Southern Vipers, Liverpool

23 August – Surrey Stars v Western Storm, London

26 August – Surrey Stars v Loughborough Lightning, London

26 August  – Western Storm v Lancashire Thunder, Bristol

26 August  – Southern Vipers v Yorkshire Diamonds, Arundel

1 September – Finals Day, Hove

Teams Involved & Players

Lancashire Thunder

Danielle Hazell (capt), Sarah Taylor, Kate Cross, Amy Satterthwaite (o), Jess Jonassen (o), Lea Tahuhu (o), Sophie Ecclestone, Emma Lamb, Eve Jones, Ellie Threlkeld, Natasha Miles, Natalie Brown, Alice Dyson, Rachel Dickinson, Ella Telford.

Loughborough Lightning

Georgia Elwiss (capt), Amy Jones, Beth Langston, Ellyse Perry (o), Kristen Beams (o), Elyse Villani (o), Paige Scholfield, Thea Brookes, Georgia Boyce, Becky Grundy, Sonia Odedra, Marie Kelly, Sarah Glenn, Lucy Higham, Abi Freeborn.

Southern Vipers

Charlotte Edwards (capt), Tash Farrant, Danielle Wyatt, Suzie Bates (o), Mignon du Preez (o), Hayley Matthews (o), Georgia Adams, Katie George, Linsey Smith, Ellen Burt, Arran Brindle, Tara Norris, Izzy Collis, Carla Rudd, Charlie Dean.

Surrey Stars

Natalie Sciver (capt), Tammy Beaumont, Laura Marsh, Alex Hartley, Marizanne Kapp (o), Lizelle Lee (o), Rene Farrell (o), Bryony Smith, Sophia Dunkley, Grace Gibbs, Aylish Cranstone, Hannah Jones, Naomi Dattani, Kirstie White, Cordelia Griffith.

Western Storm

Heather Knight (capt), Anya Shrubsole, Fran Wilson, Holly Huddleston (o), Stafanie Taylor (o), Rachel Priest (o), Georgia Hennessy, Sophie Luff, Freya Davies, Danielle Gibson, Claire Nicholas, Lauren Parfitt, Jodie Dibble, Amara Carr, Alice Macleod.

Yorkshire Diamonds

Lauren Winfield (capt), Katherine Brunt, Jenny Gunn, Chamari Athapaththu (o), Sune Luus (o), Sophie Devine (o), Hollie Armitage, Alice Davidson-Richards, Anna Nicholls, Katie Levick, Steph Butler, Laura Crofts, Teresa Graves, Maddie Walsh, Katie Thompson.

Main Challengers

Looks like Vipers biggest rivals this season are Surrey Stars

Surrey Stars team has three of the World Cup winners’ best performers – Sciver, spinner Alex Hartley and Beaumont – along with big-hitting Lizelle Lee and. Marizanne Kapp – one of the fastest bowlers in the world.

Players to watch

Chamari Atapattu (Yorkshire Diamonds): Sri Lankan opener.  World Cup sensation. Unbeaten 178 against Australia an innings with 22 fours and six huge maximums at Bristol. First player from a South Asian team to play in the KSL.

Ellyse Perry (Loughborough Lightning): Australian. One of the best all-rounders in the world.  Top scorer at Lightning, last season and led them to Finals Day.

Tammy Beaumont (Surrey Stars): She provides a steady head at the top of the order. Has explosive attacking flair that leaves most teams surprised.

Arran Brindle (Southern Vipers): The former England player. Offers middle-order power and the spin to surprise world’s best batters.

Sarah Taylor (Lancashire Thunder): The England wicketkeeper. Excelled in her first Super League season.

Stafanie Taylor (Western Storm): The West Indian all-rounder player. She was in superb form for the runners-up in the inaugural Super League, 2016.

Zeyb Zubairy

An architect by profession. She's also a basketball enthusiast, a dreamer, loves science and poetry and has a penchant for writing!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*